Tour Dates and Locations

Our spring exhibition Shapes of Water celebrates the Year of Coasts and Waters 2020.

Covid-19: tour cancelled to 18th June 2020. Following the Scottish Government’s advice on reducing the spread of COVID-19/Coronavirus, Museums & Galleries Edinburgh has made the decision to close all venues and cancel all public-facing events until the 18th June 2020, this includes Travelling Gallery’s tour. We understand these are difficult and uncharted times and we want to thank all our partners, venues, and artists for their understanding while we help protect the health of our staff and visitors.

Events in colour have been cancelled. This page will be kept up to date.

Scottish Border Abbeys with Historic Environment Scotland
Tuesday 17 March - Melrose Abbey
Wednesday 18 March - Melrose Abbey
Thursday 19 March - Dryburgh Abbey
Friday 20 March - Jedburgh Abbey

21 March - Renfrewshire
Saturday 21 March - Lochwinnoch Arts Festival

25-26 March - Edinburgh and Stirling
Wednesday 25 March - Edinburgh College
Thursday 26 March - Stirling University

31 March - 4 April - North Lanarkshire
Tuesday 31 March - St Timothy's Primary School, Coatbridge
Wednesday 1April - St Timothy's Primary School, Coatbridge
Thursday 2 April - Summerlee Museum
Friday 3 April - Summerlee Museum
Saturday 4 April - Summerlee Museum

6 - 9 April - South Lanarkshire
Monday 6 April - Springhall Community Centre and Library
Tuesday 7 April - Springhall Community Centre and Library
Wednesday 8 April - Fernhill Community Centre
Thursday 9 April - Fernhill Community Centre

14 - 16 April - East Renfrewshire
Tuesday 14 April - St Ninians High School
Wednesday 15 April - Barrhead High School
Thursday 16 April - Eastwood High School

19 April - Highland
Sunday 19 April - Thurso Harbour

20 - 25 April - Orkney Islands
Tuesday 21 April - Westray Junior High School
Wednesday 22 April - Barrhead High School
Thursday 23 April - Sanday Community School
Friday 24 April - tbc
Saturday 25 April - Kirkwall Library

6 - 9 May Aberdeenshire

12 - 15 May - Renfrewshire

22 - 23 May - Sanquhar Arts Festival
Friday 22 May - Kelloholm Primary School
Saturday 23 May - MERZ Gallery DD4 6DH

26 - 29 May - North Ayrshire
Tuesday 26 May - Eglinton Country Park KA12 8TA 10am - 4pm

30th May - Gardening Scotland

16 - 19 June - South Ayrshire

22 - 27 June - Edinburgh


Where the Travelling Gallery has visited in 2020

13 - 20 March - Scottish Borders
Friday 13 March - Borders Art FairThe Square Kelso TD5 7HL 10am - 4pm
Saturday 14 March - Borders Art Fair as above 10am - 5pm

Situated: Place, Art, Collection - February 10–21

Students in the University of Edinburgh’s MScR Collections and Curating Practices programme have worked with the Travelling Gallery and the University of Edinburgh's Art Collection to curate an exhibition about art collections and place. The University of Edinburgh’s Art Collection holds over 8,000 artworks collected over 400 years but does not have a permanent exhibition space in which to show them. In this short exhibition the Travelling Gallery will show works selected by the students.

10 - 21 February Edinburgh, Midlothian and East Lothian

Thursday 13th February - Gorebridge Beacon Hunterfield Road EH23 4TT 10am - 4pm
Friday 14th February - WHALE Arts Centre 30 Westburn Grove, EH14 2SA 10am - 4pm

Monday 17th February - Drumbrae Library Hub 81 Drumbrae Drive Edinburgh EH4 7FE 10am - 4pm
Tuesday 18th February - Ratho Library 1 School Wynd Ratho EH28 8TT 10am - 4pm
Wednesday 19th February - North Edinburgh Arts 15a Pennywell Court EH4 4TZ 10am - 4pm
Thursday 20th February - The Ripple Project 198 Restalrig Road South EH7 6DZ 10am - 4pm
Friday 21st February - Haddington High Street 10am - 4pm